Up one level
Reunion 2004
Blasko, Krieger, and Class of ’54
Honored at Recognition Luncheon

More than 150 alumni and faculty attended the 129th Recognition Luncheon on Friday, April 30. This year’s event was held at historic Westminster Hall, burial place of Edgar Allan Poe. During the luncheon, the MAA presented its two alumni awards and paid tribute to the golden anniversary class of 1954.

John C. Blasko was recipient of the 2004 Honor Award & Gold Key. A distinguished radiation oncologist, he is credited with introducing the first effective ultrasound-guided implantation of radioactive seeds into the cancerous prostate. As of 2003, some 54,000 patients have been treated in the U.S. using the technique known as prostate brachytherapy. The MAA honor was established in 1948 to recognize outstanding accomplishments in medicine and distinguished service to mankind.

The 2004 Distinguished Service Award, presented for outstanding service to the alumni association and medical school, was awarded to Morton M. Krieger, ’52. The retired Baltimore internist served as the MAA’s president in 2001 and holds the post of medical editor for the alumni Bulletin magazine.

Click an image to zoom.

John C. Blasko, '69, recipient of the Honor Award & Gold Key, stands between SOM dean Dr. Donald E. Wilson and MAA president Dennis Kurgansky, '86

Morton Krieger, '52, Distinguished Service Award recipient (center), with MAA president Dennis Kurgansky, '86 and SOM dean Donald E. Wilson

1954 Class Captain Thomas Hunt chats with Charles Hammer, who served as vice president for the class in 1954.

A number of MAA past presidents attended the luncheon, including Henry Startzman, '50, Robert Singleton, '53 and
Karl Weaver, '53

Joseph McLaughlin, '56, Irene McLaughlin, and Kevin Jarrell, '07

MAA Crab Feast
Captain James Landing Restaurant, located at the inner harbor, was at full capacity on Friday, April 30, as 300 alumni and
students enjoyed the annual crab feast.

Elle Brunner, Douglas Brunner, '79, Bill Becker, '79, Arthur Bakal, '79, Charles Highstein, '79 and Mallory Highstein

Brad Lerner, '84, Robert Reveille, '84, Joshua Sickel, '84, and Paul Ringelman, '84.

Arthur ('54) and Herta Baitch, Carole and Morton Ellin, '54, and Bernard Shochet, '54

Bob Ellis, '54, Thorlief Stangebye, '54, and Morris Rainess '54.

A toast to the Class of 1954

Back To The Bulletin